The House of Representatives

Presently, there are 31 elected members of the House of Representatives. The party with the majority of seats in the House of Representatives forms the Government. The Cabinet, the Executive branch of Government, has direct control of the civil and military apparatus of the state and makes day-to-day decisions on the management of those resources. The Executive is headed by the Prime Minister.

One of the major parliamentary functions is drafting new laws and amending old laws for peace, order and good governance of Belize. The House of Representatives plays a part – obviously the largest and most important part – in the creation of laws by the National Assembly. Once a bill has been passed by the House of Representatives, and the Senate, it is sent to the Governor-General’s Office for his assent.  The bill which the Governor-General assents then becomes an act, forming part of the Laws of Belize.

Members of the House of Representatives represent the voters of Belize.  Each year the House approves a budget outlining Government’s policies. When debating the budget, each elected member speaks to the budget in terms of its impact on their respective constituencies. They also represent the actions of the House and the Government to the people.

Apart from those mentioned above, the House has several ways of holding the Government to account. During a Sitting of the House, there is a question time for Backbenchers and Opposition Members to ask questions to Ministers. There is a provision for general and urgent debates, a Select Committee of Members to investigate matters of Government. Also, upon the motion “That this House do now adjourn” any member, customarily the Opposition, may raise any matter of public concern and a Minister may reply.

Rt. Hon. Dean Barrow
Queen Square

Hon. Patrick Faber

Hon. Frank Mena

Hon. Erwin Contreras
Cayo West

Hon. Tracy Taegar-Panton

Hon. Michael Finnegan

Dr. Hon. Omar Figueroa
Cayo North

Hon. Beverly Williams
Belize Rural Central

Hon. Manuel Heredia
Belize Rural South

Hon. John Saldivar

Hon. Elodio Aragon, Jr.
Orange Walk East

Hon. Anthony Martinez
Port Loyola

Hon. Rene Montero
Cayo Central

Hon. Edmond Castro
Belize Rural North

Hon. Wilfred Elrington

Hon. Pablo Marin
Corozal Bay

Hon. Gaspar Vega
Orange Walk North

Hon. Hugo Patt
Corozal North

Hon. Angel Campos
Corozal South West

The Opposition

Hon. John Briceno
Orange Walk Central

Hon. Cordel Hyde
Lake Independence

Rt. Hon. Said Musa
Fort George

Hon. Kareem Musa
Caribbean Shores

Hon. Jose Mai
Orange Walk South

Hon. Julius Espat
Cayo South

Hon. Orlando Habet
Cayo North East

Hon. Florencio Marin Jr.
Corozal South East

Hon. Rodwell Ferguson
Stann Creek West

Hon. Oscar Requena
Toledo West

Hon. Mike Espat
Toledo East

Click here to learn and find out more about the opportunities we offer.